Tag: Fresh Radio

TONIGHT!!! #ByAllMeansFresh



Tune in at 9a ET | 6a PT: #ByAllMeansFresh and #BehindTheFresh with KRS-One!!image1-101TONIGHT AFTER THE KRS-ONE CONCERT…FM Restaurant…$5 with a ticket stub from the show or 3 canned goods!!!!

image1-78Noon ET | 9a PT: #LegendsAtNoon KRS One live performance!!!


#CuttingUp LIVE from Trimmers Barbershop with DJ Bee, Dre, Tank, Stacey and special guest Cookie as we just talk barbershop talk!!!

1p ET | 10a PT: #CuttingUpimage1-102

3p ET | Noon PT: #HerkulesWorld with Herk and DJ Book (DC)

5p ET | 2p PT: #ByAllMeansFresh reFRESH with Krs One & DJ Bee

7p ET | 4p PT: #ClassicFlavas with DJ Reets (DC)Reets Flavors


8p | 5p PT: #Suite404 with EboniATL (Fresh South)Suite 404 EboniATL

9p ET | 6p PT: #ThrillRadio with Cymandye (Fresh South)

Thrill 21 ARt
10p ET | 7p PT: #TheMainIngredient with DJ Puffdragon (Chi/VA/True School DJs)

11p ET | 8p PT: #DaPowerHourMix with DJ Strez

Midnight ET | 9p PT: #WaxMuseum with DJ Tommy J (Fresh South)



Did you like this? Share it:

Fresh Start Morning Show LIVE 8a ET




8a ET | 5a PT: #FreshStart Morning Show LIVE with DJ Bee (Philly/VA/SMC)

Tomorrow Morning an exclusive interview with Krs-One!!!

Did you like this? Share it:

Brown Sugar: Rudy Currence



Rudy Currence is R&B Royalty

by Angie Cee


I love r&b and soul. It’s the majority of what I listen to. Add a little splash of punk and I’m all in. There was a brief moment after the 90s r&b movement when it seemed like there wasn’t anything new and fresh out there. However the musical landscape is wide open right now and the artists are taking risks, mixing genres and bringing back quality songwriting. South Carolina Native  and Grammy Award winner RUDY CURRENCE is a singer/songwriter/producer doing just that with his latest single “ROYAL BLUE”. Learn more about him in our BROWN SUGAR interview. Be sure to check the links at the bottom for upcoming dates and links to his music.


Brown Sugar As always paying homage to my column’s namesake I like to start interviews with the same question she used in the film “When did you fall in love with hip hop…” in your case let’s sub hip hop for music in general?

Rudy Currence- Since before I can remember… I’ve always loved music. I remember as a child wanting to be better, sing better, play better. That grew into wanting to be a better writer and producer as well. I still feel like a student of music. You should never stop learning.


Brown SugarYour bio calls you a Triple Threat. Producer, Writer, Singer. If you could only do one for the rest of your life which one would it be and why *in my teacher voice* ?

Rudy Currence-I could never choose one. It’s like a parent picking a favorite child. They’re all like siblings, all connected and I love them all equally. I will say that so far, I’ve won a Grammy for my production and been nominated for another Grammy for my writing. So now I’m waiting on my singing to catch up! Lol


Brown SugarFor people not familiar with you as an artist choose three words to describe you and your sound.

Rudy Currence-Timeless, Innovative, Soulful (and Inspiring… I hope! LOL)


Brown Sugar- Talk to me about the cover art for your new single Royal Blue?RoyalBlue

Rudy Currence“Royal Blue” is the first single from my new album, “The Coronation”. Like the album, I wanted Royal Blue (the single and cover art) to have a regal quality but still be creative and fresh. It represents the fact that our generation can identify with being “Kings and Queens” instead of thugs and thots. Also, I aspire to one day be classified as musical royalty. Lastly, the Bible says “If  you be faithful over few things, I (God) will make you ruler over many things. That means that we can all be royal if we stay faithful.

Brown SugarSoul singers/ r&b crooners can be found up and down our social media timelines. What do you bring to the landscape that distinguishes you as an artist?

Rudy Currence-No one can be you, but you… So I bring me. As far as writing, I love to tell stories and talk about subjects we can all relate to, but in an innovative way that no one else is doing. Also, as an indie artist, I’ve learned how to use social media to my advantage. I’m still learning since social media is constantly changing, but it’s definitely become a great promotional platform for me.


Brown SugarHow do  your gospel roots add something to your current content and or musical style?

Rudy Currence- My gospel roots have definitely taught me how to be a better entertainer. In church, you learn how to connect with all types of audience, improvise and give a passionate delivery. I thank my Dad, who is a Pastor in Rock Hill, SC and my Mom who helps manage me for raising my brother, Mykal Star and I in the church. Keeping God first and having a support system helps me to stay grounded. Also my gospel roots have taught me that music is about a message. No matter what I sing, my goal is always to promote positivity and encourage people.


Brown SugarYou get in the studio and get the opportunity to  scroll down Quincy Jones’ contact list. Who would you collab with on that list?

Rudy Currence-Definitely, the late GREAT Michael Jackson. RIP


Brown Sugar- You already have a pretty amazing musical career. Great collaborations and a Grammy win and an additional nomination. What else is on the horizon  for you sir?

Rudy Currence-I plan to release a lot more music. I want to continue to write and produce for other artists. I would love to write and produce more for Commercials, TV and Film. I really hope to tour internationally soon and I’d love to get into acting as well. Basically, I wanna take over the world. lol Thank you for allowing me this platform!

Brown Sugar No doubt, my pleasure.


Brown Sugar is written by Angie Cee for Fresh Radio. Email @abitofbrownsugar for interview, event coverage and reviews. Follow online IG- @abitofbrownsugar twitter- @abitofbrownsugaIMG_1632

Find Rudy here-








Links to Royal Blue:

Get “Royal Blue” on iTunes NOW!



Get “Royal Blue” on GooglePlay NOW!



Rudy Currence | “Royal Blue” Lyric Video


Did you like this? Share it:
WordPress SEO fine-tune by Meta SEO Pack from Poradnik Webmastera