Category: Fresh Radio

We’re closer to Friday on Monday in a way…

20Oct

POSTED BY

Enjoy a replay of last Saturday’s #AMRadio and #BehindTheGroove …we planned on running back #FreshFridays but the audio seems to be corrupted! We’ll work on that!

freshradiosoul5p ET | 2p PT: #FreshRadio Mixtape LIVE with DJ Bee (Philly/VA/SMC)

7p ET | 4p PT: Enjoy and Be Educated with DJ Unexpected and Hevehitta (NY)

Continuing with the acclaimed series, “The Beatography of…”, it’s only right we showcase one of the pioneers of hip-hop producing, Marlon Williams, better known as Marley Marl. Starting out as a DJ in Queensbridge Houses in NYC, he later worked with veteran radio personality Mr. Magic (aka Super Rockin’ Mr. Magic) on WHBI, later moving to WBLS on the “Mr. Magic’s Rap Attack” radio show. Friday and Saturday nights became a battle of the airwaves as they and rivals DJ Red Alert & Chuck Chillout on KISS-FM competed to play the hottest records and discover new talent. Marley Marl began his foray into producing for the newly-formed Juice Crew with early contributions to Roxanne Shante, Kool G. Rap and MC Shan in the mid 80’s. In fact, with MC Shan’s infamous record “The Bridge”, it was the 1st time fans heard drums actually chopped from break beats and re-programmed, as opposed to the preferred use of drum machines available at the time. Marley went on to become the in-house producer for Cold Chillin’ Records and moved on to produce for Lords of The Underground and reviving LL Cool J’s career in the early 1990s. Here we present 2 hours of known and rare treats (including some Juice Crew members’s premier singles), in hopes of you the listener becoming aware and appreciative of the genius of Marlon Williams. Enjoy and be educated.

 

Did you like this? Share it:

#FreshRadio blesses Sunday with what else? MUSIC!!!

19Oct

POSTED BY

freshradiosoul

10a ET | 7a PT: #thelivemixshow with DJ I Rock Jesus bringing you ministry heat!

11a ET | 8a PT: #dancehallradio with Xcalibur (NY)

Noon ET | 9a PT: #dahousespotsessions with Chitronix (Chi/Bahrain)

1p ET | 10a PT: #thewonderyears with DJ Fountz (Mass/Va)

2p ET | 11a PT: #herkulesworld with Herk and DJ Book (DC)

3p ET | Noon PT: #aphrodisiacsoul with DJ Ruckus (OH/VA/NC)

4p ET | 1p PT: #subsoniqradio

6p ET | 3p PT: #bangtime with DJ Rick Geez (Philly/Tour DJ for Pusha T)

7p ET | 4p PT: #entadastage #decoded by DJ Bee (Philly/VA/SMC)…dropped 21 years ago today! tumblr_m4bm3dfQaM1qbq6g8o1_500

9p ET | 6p PT: #eargasms with DJ Jaycee (Detroit/ATL)

Did you like this? Share it:

Welcome to the weekend #FreshRadio | Lineup October 18, 2014

18Oct

POSTED BY

Thank you to everyone that came out to #FreshFridays last night! Special salute to Disko Dave who murdered the tables!freshradiosoul

8a ET | 5a PT: #LessonsInJazz with Whiz and Mooselessons in jazz

 

10a ET | 7a PT: #TheMixMechanicShow with DJ Big Will (Fresh South)

11a ET | 8a PT: #IrieRadio with Dee Jay Irie (Holland)dee jay irie

Noon ET | 9a PT: #TheShelter with DJ Mista Nice (NJ)

1p ET | 10a PT: #FreshRadio Mixtape (Re-Fresh) with DJ Bee (Philly/VA/SMC)

2p ET | 11a PT: #DaPowerHourMix with DJ Strez

Da Power Hour3p ET | Noon PT: #TheWorldwideShow with DJ Opal

4p ET | 1p PT: #FreshFreestyle Classics with DJ Pablo (Bronx/MD)

5p ET | 2p PT: #TheMainIngredient with DJ Puffdragon (Chi/VA)

6p ET | 3p PT: #DroppinScience with DJ Matman and Daredevil (UK/DMC)

7p ET | 4p PT: #ListenToTheMan with DJ Kevy Kev (NY)

8:30 ET | 5:30 PT: #AMRadio with KEJA (Brooklyn/VA/Reel Team)

9p ET | 6p PT: #FreshFridays REPLAY with DJ Bee and Disko Dave

 

Did you like this? Share it:
WordPress SEO fine-tune by Meta SEO Pack from Poradnik Webmastera